Seacombe Primitive Methodist Church

Seacombe Primitive Methodist Church, as designed in 1907 | Rev Steven Wild
Seacombe Primitive Methodist Church, as designed in 1907
Rev Steven Wild

In 1923, the PM Conference Handbook described Seacombe as, ‘a church with a future’.  It continued, ‘The first church was erected in 1868 and the present school-church in 1907.  It has a membership of over 300 and nearly 600 scholars and the main church building is being anticipated.’

The postcard opposite is fascinating, as it shows a church that was never built!   It clearly shows the original architect’s design for the new building in 1907. Tantalisingly, someone has written ‘As it was first designed but the actual building is quite different’.

Comments about this page

  • Further information about Primitive Methodism in Wallesey can be found at the History of Wallesey website.
    In relation to this chapel it records that after “World War One it was decided to open a new chapel. A site was obtained in Poulton Road, Seacombe, on the corner of Northbrook Road. The stone laying ceremony was held on 21st May, 1927, and was laid by Charles Wass Esq, J.P., who was to become Vice President of Primitive Methodist Church in 1930. The church opened for worship on 4th April, 1928, with the dedication service started by Revd. J.H Saxton of Middlesborough.

    In the Second World War the Primitive Methodist Church was destroyed by a bomb during the March 1941 air-raids. The church was then demolished in 1944.”

    The 1941 statistical return records the chapel as brick built seating 600 with three school halls and 11 other rooms.

    By Geoff Dickinson (14/01/2019)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *