Cromford Primitive Methodist chapel
Scarthin Row (south side), Cromford DE4 3QF
The Primitive Methodist Magazine for August 1854 contains an account by J Hirst of the opening of Cromford Primitive Methodist chapel.
Described as “a romantic and picturesque town”, Cromford was first missioned some thirty years earlier and the society had been meeting in a rented room. When the rent doubled, the society decided to look elsewhere and bought a piece of land for £73. The foundation stone was laid by Mr J Smith of Butterley Park, with the assistance of no less than five ministers – the Revs J Stevenson, T Shaw, D Jowett, J Eckersley and J Hirst.
The formal opening was spread from February 12th to May 8th 1854, with inputs from Rev J Brownson (Sheffield), J Smith (Butterly-Park, R Doxey (Wesleyan of Manchester), Mrs Shaw (Ripley) and Miss Quarton (Nottingham).
The chapel was brick built with a gallery, 33′ x 24′, 19′ from floor to ceiling and seated 300. They had covered £90 of the total £300 cost.
On Google Street View in 2016, the chapel still stands and retains its date stone. Its use at that time is not clear.
Primitive Methodist Magazine August 1854 p502