Cumberworth Primitive Methodist chapel
Willoughby Road Cumberworth LN13 9LF
The first Cumberworth Primitive Methodist chapel dates from 1839. Keith Guyler’s photograph shows it as a store. The later chapel is just two doors away.
Keith Guyler’s notes say the second chapel dates from 1853/1857 and served until 1947. The chapel became the schoolroom to the neighbouring (ex-United Methodist) chapel. Later it became the village hall.
This may not be correct; it may be that the 1853 chapel is the United Methodist chapel.
location of the chapels: 504732
After Keith Guyler’s photograph was published here, visitors to this page provided further information about whether the chapel shown is indeed the Prim one; see the comments below. Thanks for clarifying.
Ray and Marie, the current owners of the now converted chapel, have also provided photos and added more fascinating information from their research. See the comments below.
In the Primitive Methodist magazine of November 1859 (page 684) John North writes about the opening of Cumberworth Primitive Methodist chapel on Sunday July 31st 1859. He explains that there had been a Revival in the winter of 1858-9 and so Mr Kirk sold the trustees part of the large garden that came with the house he had just bought and a chapel was built. The total cost was £70 of which £30 had been raised at the time of opening.
The new chapel measured 25’6″ x 17′, was 12′ to the ceiling, had a boarded floor and seated 100.
T Whitehead (Louth) preached at the opening and at the subsequent tea meeting, speakers were J Maltby (Louth), T Whitehead, J North and W Coulson