“The Primitive Methodists – that zealous and indefatigable body of Christians…have found their way into the thriving town of Long Sutton,” So reported the Stamford Mercury for the inaugaration on Sunday 12th June 1842. According to that newspaper the building was the old chapel (possibly on the High Street) vacated by the Wesleyans ( – for a new one in 1839). Henry Bunn, minister of the Independent (later Congregational) Chapel preached at morning worship, and in the afternoon Mrs Taylor of Wisbech gave “a fervent address, listened to with breathless attention”.
Described in the 1851 census of Religious Worship as an entire building having 189 sittings. Agricultural labourer George Greenwood was one of the signitories. So too was local preacher William ‘Batterhouses’ of Fleet but this likely a transcription error for ‘Batterham’, a shoemaker and PM preacher of that place.
Neither the Primitive nor Free Methodists here were as enduring as the Wesleyans. It appears the chapel closed in the 1870s, the building then used variously as a temporary citadel for the Salvation Army; a carpenter’s workshop; and a flour warehouse. Converted in 1906 to a motor garage—was this the first such use for a redundant Primitive chapel? Widespread press interest at the time suggests it could have been. Long since demolished.
Stamford Mercury 17th June 1842
Census of Religious Worship 1851
Boston Guardian 7th April 1906