Battersea Fields Primitive Methodist chapel

2A Mallinson Rd, London SW11 1BP

The 1878 Primitive Methodist magazine contains a note recording  the laying of the top stones for a new  Primitive Methodist chapel at Battersea Fields in the London seventh station. The ceremony took place on Whit Monday 1878.

The building was to cost £2,000 and seat 600.

Thanks to Matt Davis for identifying where the chapel was and what happened to it.

Reference

Primitive Methodist magazine 1878 page 571

Comments about this page

  • This Primitive Methodist chapel stood at the southwest corner of Mallinson Road, near the junction of Bolingbroke Road and very close to both St Mary’s Cemetery and Wandsworth Common. The Sunday School came first, in 1878, and was used for worship until 1886 when the attached chapel was built. It was registered for marriages under the name “Mallinson Road Chapel” on 26th June 1888. This registration, for what was latterly known simply as “Methodist Church”, was cancelled on 7th January 1964. The buildings survived, and were re-registered on 11th November 1968 for the Ransom Pentecostal African
    Methodist Episcopal Zion Church – so there is still a Methodist connection. The church belongs to the London Midland Conference of the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church, and appears to use the whole building (chapel and Sunday School) for worship. The six-bay side elevation retains its original brown brick with red dressings, but the façade has had cement applied and is painted white. Coordinates are 51.457707, -0.169379. The 1949 map (https://maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/#zoom=19.1&lat=51.45774&lon=-0.16919&layers=170&b=1) shows both buildings when still in Methodist ownership.

    By Matthew Davis (03/01/2024)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.