Jones, Edgar Henry (1892-1965)

Christian Messenger 1927


EDGAR HENRY JONES: born at Coleford, Somerset, on 23 August 1892, a son of the manse, his father being Rev. John Jones, a Primitive Methodist Minister. Edgar Jones was educated at Taunton Trades School, Southampton, and, after being accepted for the Primitive Methodist Ministry, entered Hartley-Victoria College, Manchester. He served in twelve circuits, namely, Brighouse, Cheltenham, Gloucester, Burnley II, Swindon II, Guernsey, Nottingham IV, Derby, Manchester (Plymouth Grove), Watford, Ferndale, and Burton-on-Trent, retiring to Cheltenham in 1956. He was President of the Free Church Council in Guernsey, and also of several C.E. Unions. He was author of a number of short stories, several of which appeared in Methodist publications. Richly endowed in nature and grace, he was a loyal colleague, a tireless pastor, and always had time for personal friendship. He is remembered as a preacher of the Gospel. To this he brought wide reading – literature was his delight – careful preparation, a pungent sense of humour, Celtic passion, and deep convictions. Many who heard him were convinced of the Truth, and were committed to Christ. In retirement, he was in precarious health, but his home and his many friends and his Church remained his chief joys. Cared for as always by his wife Grace, and their two sons, Stuart and Gordon, he entered into rest on 21 August 1965, in the seventy-third year of his life and the fifty-first of his ministry.


Edgar was born on 23 August 1892 at Coleford, Somerset, to parents John Jones and Mary Ann Wynn. John was a PM Minister.

Edgar married Zelmeria Grace Berry (1896-1980) in the summer of 1918 at Cheltenham, Glocestershire. Edgar’s obituary identifies two children.

  • Stuart Wynn (1919-1991) – an advertising designer (1965)
  • Gordon – I have not been able to identify a birth record on-line for Gordon

Edgar died on 21 August 1965 at Cheltenham, Gloucestershire.


  • Hartley
  • 1914 Brighouse &c
  • 1915 Cheltenham
  • 1916 Gloucester
  • 1918 Burnley II
  • 1921 Swindon II
  • 1924 Guernsey
  • 1928 Nottingham IV
  • 1933 Nottingham Mayfield Grove
  • 1934 Derby Central
  • 1936 Derby S
  • 1941 Manchester Gros St
  • 1944 Manchester SE
  • 1945 Watford
  • 1952 Rhondda (Ely Valley)
  • 1954 Burton on Trent, Parker St
  • 1956 Cheltenham (Sup)


PM Minutes

W Leary, Directory of Primitive Methodist Ministers and their Circuits, 1990

Census Returns and Births, Marriages & Deaths Registers


No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.