Wimbledon Primitive Methodist chapel

“The foundation stones for a new chapel have been laid at Wimbledon in the Balham station and about £150 raised towards the cost.”

Where was this chapel?  What happened to it and its people?


Primitive Methodist magazine 1897 page 76

Comments about this page

  • It was the building at 51.419043, -0.190518, at the junction of Quicks Road (which it faces) and Wycliffe Road, South Wimbledon. There is a datestone of 1897 on the gable, although the words which were once above it (presumably “PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL”) have been obliterated. It was registered for worship and for the solemnisation of marriages on 02/08/1899. These registrations were cancelled on 17/10/1955, but already by the 1951 OS map (https://maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/#zoom=19.0&lat=51.41915&lon=-0.19039&layers=170&b=1) the building is marked as a screen printing works. It is now a suite of serviced offices called “The Old Church”. The former church hall to the east is in separate ownership as the Eveline Day Nursery. George Pearson Clarke, Minister of the Balham Primitive Methodist Chapel, submitted the registration certificate, which bears out the reference to Balham in the 1897 magazine article.

    By Matthew Davis (07/03/2023)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.