Waring, Ernest James (1900-1987)

Transcription of obituary published in the Minutes of Conference

ERNEST JAMES WARING: born in Chester on 6th April 1900. From a farming background, he was educated at All Saints, Hoole and Love Street High School, Chester. After acceptance as a candidate for the ministry he spent one year in Sheffield before training at Hartley College. His first Circuit appointment in 1926 was to Bishop Auckland. He then served almost entirely in the Northern half of England. Chesterfield, Hull IV, Bradford 11, Bradford (Great Horton), Cleckheaton, Bradford (Woodhouse Grove), Bradford (Low Moor), Newmarket, Bloxwich (Pinfold), Calne, Liverpool (Central), Liverpool (North East), Walkden, Worsley, Great Harwood until he became a Supernumerary, living in Brixham from 1965. He continued to preach regularly in Devon Circuits until he was 80. 

He engaged in early years in Open Air work and Film Evangelism and saw the Pastoral and Preaching ministries as of highest importance in his life. He loved reading, photography and motoring. Sadly in his last years he was severely restricted in walking and spent several spells in hospital. He rejoiced to spend his 87th birthday with his wife, Rosalie, at home; that day they celebrated 45 years married life. Gratitude, courage and good humour marked his bearing of his last illness. 

He died on 12th August 1987 in the eighty-eighth year of his age and the sixty-first year of his Ministry.


Ernest was born on 6 April 1900 at Chester, Cheshire, to parents Thomas Waring, a milk purveyor (1901), and Clarissa Smith.

He married Iza Helen Mather (1888-1940) in the summer of 1930 in the Fylde Registration District, Lancashire. Birth Records identify one child.

  • Paul M (b1932)

He married Violet Rosalie Mitson (1909-1998) in the spring of 1942 at Newmarket, Cambridgeshire. Birth records identify two children.

  • Judith M (b1943)
  • Angela R (b1945)

Ernest died on 12 August 1987 at Brixham, Devon.


  • Hartley
  • 1926 Bishop Auckland
  • 1929 Chesterfield I
  • 1930 Hull IV
  • 1932 Bradford II
  • 1934 Cleckheaton
  • 1937 Bradford Woodhouse
  • 1940 Bradford Low M
  • 1941 Newmarket Mission
  • 1946 Bloxwich Pinfold
  • 1950 Calne
  • 1954 Liverpool Central
  • 1955 Liverpool NE
  • 1959 Walkden
  • 1961 Worsley
  • 1964 Gt Harwood
  • 1965 Brixham (Sup)


Methodist Minutes 1988/53

W Leary, Directory of Primitive Methodist Ministers and their Circuits, 1990

Census Returns and Births, Marriages & Deaths Registers

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.